Over the last few days there have been great signs of recovery.  I was able to move to the stage 2 diet a few days ago and this morning Dr. Berdejas said he will move me to stage 3 tomorrow, if all goes well today.  That means I will be able to eat angel food cake, graham crackers, bread, and even jelly. :)  I am very excited to actually have something to chew besides jello. :)  I have not had food for one month…only liquids.  Keep praying that the recovery moves along as it is now.  Yesterday, Dr. Flinn said he was encouraged.  It means so much to a patient when a doctor is the one that says that rather than the patient asking what their thoughts are when they are in the room.  Praise the Lord that I am improving!

Yesterday was fun.  For the last three years I have been an adviser for four doctoral students at Trevecca.  Throughout my illness I have still been able to advise them and I have been blessed to get to know each of them.  Two of the students defended their dissertations yesterday.  The students came to the hospital and presented their defense in the conference room located on my floor.  They will have a story to tell down the road…”I defended my dissertation in a hospital.”  I can just hear them share about their experience.  For me, it was awesome to have the afternoon to not only fulfill their requirement of a defense, it also allowed me to have a great mental focus.  Next Monday the other two students will present their defense.  One of the students encouraged her peers to bring items for the initiative Anna-Laura started…Simple Acts Touching Lives.  Both students brought items to be added to the collection.  Their act of kindness meant so much to me.

In case you are not aware, Anna-Laura saw the need for cancer patients to have a soft blanket, slippers, head coverings (the head can get really cold), and soft tissues (the ones in the hospital are like sandpaper).  It has been wonderful how people have responded.  There is a closet where these items are stored and the nurses are able just to get what the patient might need and give it to them as a gift.  Anna-Laura also has a scripture on each item.  I am so proud of her and the desire she has to help others in need.

It would be great to have more of these items.  The desire is not that it be a short-term expression of kindness, but an ongoing ministry to those who are hospitalized in the cancer center.  You could bring any items to Anna-Laura if you would like to contribute.  This is a great time of the year to find clearance items that could be added.

Okay, I have been a little wordy today.  Keli is working, so I guess this is my way to have some communication with someone. :)

Thank you for your continued prayers and support.

Blessings,

Sam

