Yes, today we celebrate my one year birthday.  It was a year ago today that I received a stem cell transplant from my brother, Steve.  It has been a wonderful week.  Because it is my one year anniversary, I had several tests this week…bone marrow biopsy, pulmonary function test, chest x-ray, and an eye exam.  I learned on Wednesday that I remain in complete remission…no leukemia cells found in the bone marrow.  I learned this morning that I am 100% engrafted.  That means that Steve’s cells have become my cells.  Both of these things are such huge answers to prayer.  The other tests went great, too, so as I continue to progress in my health, it is all looking good.  Praise the Lord for answered prayers.  He is so faithful.

It has been so nice to be back home as I am discovering new routines throughout the day.  I am still coming to the clinic 3 days a week and many of those appointments take 5-6 hours; however, we get to go home after the clinic visits and that is such a blessing.  I think the girls are enjoying me being home more since I have gone on long-term disability.  I am still adjusting to the change of life of not going to work five days a week, but it is so good to be able to give into recovering during this chapter of life.

I don’t think I have shared this with you, but it may be something you need to hear today.  The week I knew I would be applying for disability was very difficult for me.  As a husband and father I expect that I will take care of my family and that means working hard to provide for my girls.  I had several restless nights as my mind raced with all sorts of thoughts about how life would change for the Green family.  I prayed that I would not doubt or have fear of the future and totally trusted that the Lord would direct our future as he had been directing our lives throughout our journey.

After a few nights of restless sleep and racing thoughts, I began to sleep better although I was still having questions in my mind about the future.  The Lord woke me up one of those nights and gave me his assurance by putting one word in my mind…temporary.  At that time I was not able to eat…He assured me that was only temporary.  I was losing weight almost daily…He assured me that was temporary.  My muscles were being weakened by the high-dose steroids and I was having difficulty walking…He assured me that was temporary.  I was going to be on inactive status in my full-time position and there would be a significant reduction of income…He assured me that was temporary.

Temporary…so many times in my life I have looked at present situations and felt that is how it would always be.  The Father showed me that night that I truly am on a journey and that many of the situations of life are only temporary.  Since that time I have had doubt flair up in my mind, but I immediately think back to that night and the communion I had with the Lord and realize once again that it is only temporary.

God is so faithful.  He speaks to us in an infinite number of ways.  I will never forget the night He woke me up and wrapped me in His arms and whispered “temporary.”  To God be the glory.

Blessings,

Sam